What an Interesting Day

I had to go to court this morning to observe a case to write a paper that’s due tomorrow. This one was a doozy. I was so thankful that my knitting project passed security, because for a while I thought I would have to make a mad dash to find another trial. After the lawyers went thru a few motions, the judge passed around a candy basket, to which he kindly consented I have a piece from 🙂

The defendant was charged with rape, sodomy, and attempted sodomy. Because the defendant took FOREVER to show up from the jail, which is right next door, the judge announced that he was going home after waiting on him for 45 minutes. I panicked until I realized that the attorneys weren’t leaving. Literally three minutes after the judge swept out, the defendant finally arrived complaining about the clothes he was given.

I’m a firm believer that Beggars can’t be Choosers.

Thankfully, the judge returned about a half hour later. The attorneys went thru a few more motions, including dropping the original charge of kidnapping, I got to sit in on the jury selection. Given that 41 potential jurors were coming in, the judge kindly provided a chair for me to sit in on the side.

Well, jury selection was a trip, let me tell ya. Very opinionated people, very emotional people, and downright angry people were called in. It was entertaining and sad within three minutes of each juror making their schpeel.

I finally managed to finish a sock, which several jurors complimented coming in and out of the courtroom between breaks. This yarn was a birthday present back in 2011, and it’s been sitting on my bookshelf, staring me down, silently begging to be finished. I was so scared that security would turn it away, but as it happens, the security guy didn’t say a word about it. The bailiff in the courtroom laughed Nd asked how I managed to sneak “Those crochet needles in”, (I didn’t think it wise to correction given his close proximity to a gun,) so I merely looked innocent and said, “What? These over-sized toothpicks?” which seemed to satisfy him.

I had such a unique experience with this adventure today, I would even go so far to say that I would even attend another trial presided from this judge just for the hell of it.

20130415-163808.jpg

4 thoughts on “What an Interesting Day

Leave a Reply

