Backup

I haven’t been to Church in a long time, not for anything substantial or catastrophic, I just have never found a permanent place that I like.

I don’t wanna cram my personal beliefs down y’alls throats, but dang, the Big Man totally spared my backside today.

It rained today. I take a weird zigzag route across town to get to school everyday. On the last street of my journey, there are no stop signs going north and south, and all cross streets going east and west have signs clearly stating that ‘cross traffic does not stop’.

One particular cross street even has a continuously flashing red light.

I was going about 35 give or take down this road, approaching this intersection. From a dead stop, an old woman in a white minivan decides to go ahead and creep through the intersection. Slowly.

I don’t know how, but her eyes locked with mine, as she was giving me a very nasty look, and some how, I managed not to t-bone her van in half, and probably break my neck in the process.

Now, I don’t know how many of y’all know me out in the real world, but something I’m known for is having numerous backup plans for when something eventually goes wrong. Some people call that over pessimistic, I call them naive.

I’m totally aware that He spared us both today, but as I pulled thru the intersection and the old woman pulled away, a police car just so happened to turn down onto this street and drive towards us where this accident would have occurred.

Backup. Cavalry, whatever. There is always a backup plan for when things eventually go wrong. Always. I called my mom to tell her what happened but she was busy. I called my dad freaking out and almost in tears thanking him for putting good tires on my junky old car about two years back. I think, should I eventually get a Sunday off work, or change my availability for summer time, I may pop in to that church right in front of where all this went down. Seems only appropriate to me.

Leave a Reply

