What I Never Did is Done

I’ve done it. I’ve finally done it!!

Now, for those of you who don’t know, I developed the name Blue Merino in honor of the first spinning project I ever made. It was a smokey blue merino top that I spun into about 20 single-ply balls that I left sitting around for about two years before I felt brave enough to knit it into an infinity scarf, this one to be precise:

I still have enough to make a matching ear-warmer, just haven’t done it yet.

Now, as you all know I am waiting on 4.6 pounds of alpaca fiber that I got from my aunt to come back from the mill blended with some merino top that I have to spin into roving. Well, I’ve been practicing spinning on this chocolate brown I’ve had laying around for a while

20130609-145624.jpg

Another first: I plied the yen this time. I didn’t have enough room to crack open the second bag, so I just went with what I had.

Sometime in the near future I’m going to get with one of my uncles who is a carpenter. As you can see, that spindle is running out of room, bad. So, he and I are going to cook up a better spindle for me 🙂

Also, my dearest daddy was kind enough to go with me to Home Depot to get some PVC pipe. Out of all the various knitting and crochet supplies i possess, my spinning arsenal is still lacking a wheel, drum carder, and a niddy noddy. Well, not anymore! Let me tell ya, the kid at the checkout was very professional when I tried to explain to him what a niddy noddy was, so, kiddos to him.

20130609-150113.jpg

That’s my dad. That’s a metal large he’s trimming the PVC pipe on so it’s perfect for me to assemble. He’s another good sport. And we’re using the lathe because he lost the hack saw.

20130609-150237.jpg

Here is the final product!! I already know the arms of it are too long, but I didn’t want to waste any pipe, especially since this was going to be a one time deal. This baby is a two-yard niddy noddy.

20130609-150413.jpg

Here it is. Two-ply, 100% alpaca. 40 yards!!!

It varies in thickness throughout, but I love it!!

20130609-150518.jpg

Deep in my bones, I feel like something magical just happened, and I just wanted to share this with you.

Have a blessed day!!!
Rach

Leave a Reply

