Graduation

Today was one hell of a day if I do say so myself! I attended my first Christmas party at the Shelter. It was so much fun to get to see all my friends who work the day shift ๐Ÿ˜Š

I won a cookie baking set and a s’mores and hot cocoa set.

20131213-204010.jpg

20131213-204048.jpg
My co-pilot H and I will be eating good this week! As soon as our game of Dirty Santa was over, I had to race home and get ready to go right back to the same area of town and get ready for my college graduation.

I am the first person in my family, on both my mom’s side and my dad’s side to graduate from a major university. I have finally obtained my Bachelor’s of Science degree in Child and Family Development, with an Emphasis in Child Life, and a Minor in Psychology.

I met up with a classmate from middle school, neither of us knew any body else so we walked together. I tripped a little on the way up to get ready to walk, but I was able to politely tell the lady how to pronounce my last name. My last name has been butchered ever since infancy, so I wanted to make sure at the singularly most significant moment of my life thus far that they would get it right.

Instead, she called me “Rachelle”.

You all know that’s not my name. Of course I made sure to check the spelling before hand, but no, she up and frenchifies me.

What’s funny is my school has a diversified international population, and of course everyone in the Asian Invasion who walked had their names pronounced correctly, but for a good-ole English name that’s no spelled in a wierd way, mine is the one they get wrong.

Sheesh!

But regardless, I strutted down that aisle like I bought it and I made my mama proud.

20131213-205223.jpg
We then headed over and had dinner at my favorite hibachi joint called Nakatos. The chef was phenomenal and gave me a whole bunch of extras, and all the other people we wound up sitting with congratulated me. It was a great night overall!

20131213-205417.jpg
That’s my dad, he’s goofy, I know.

Well, tomorrow is my party, and the weather is crappy, but I’m sure it will be a blast regardless!
Cheers from me and Rosie!

20131213-205555.jpg

20131213-205654.jpg

RACHEL, not ‘Rachelle’

Leave a Reply

