I’m Back

In the past few weeks since The Color Run there have been quite a few changes in my life and career.

First and foremost, I was promoted at work to the role of Children’s Advocate! I now work 8:30-5, have weekends off, and get back to doing what I do well! Working in the main shelter was exhausting and stressful. Now, there are so many possibilities!

Aside from the daily Child Care duties, I’ll also be facilitating the After School Program, a book club, and several resident art activities thru the week!

Finally, I’ve taken on the duties of teaching the Parenting class. Now, I’m not a parent myself, and people don’t take too kindly to a successful college grab pointing out the painfully obvious fact that they are terrible parents, so I need to re-work the approach to just building family bonds.

On a depressing note, my trip to Disney World is officially cancelled. The transmission in my car is starting to give out, so we’ve crunched the numbers and I have to get a new car. I’ve been crying all afternoon. Yesterday Sarah and I bought our tickets. Thankfully we ordered refundable tickets.

On the knitting side of life:

20140415-231440.jpg
Working on a set of Minion hats and booties for Other Rachel. They’re coming along slower than I like, but then again I have less time to knit at work now.
My last Saturday night in the main shelter, Girl Taylor and I got to hang out and knit with my favorite teen resident. It was a great bonding moment.

20140415-231658.jpg
I’m still extremely depressed about yet another lost attempt at having a grown-up vacation for once. I’ve worked so hard and had to suffer so much to try to get established as being independent enough to do things like this.

Stupid cars.
My horoscope even predicted it. Fuck.

20140415-232014.jpg
(I’m a capricorn in case you didn’t know)

Leave a Reply

