The Pursuit

So, from last weeks fiber festival, I wound up spinning one of the custom batts I made!

20140524-080503.jpg
Here’s what it looks like if you don’t remember from last week. Here it is spun up!

20140524-080550.jpg

20140524-080647.jpg
I like to wear my yarn I’m sure you know. Especially my handspun!

I got 140ish yards out of it, single ply. I love the color differentiation but I wish not that I hadn’t started with that base layer of Icelandic wool, it’s too dark but hey, it was my first time.

The Thing About Drum Carders:

They are expensive as fuck!!!!

Forgive my French but it’s true. A drum carder or, hell, hand carders, would make my production go so much faster and cheaper if I could do it all myself!

I have yet to find a drum carder for less than $500. I paid $460 for my spinning wheel!!! And got free shipping!!!

Can’t stand it.

Even hand carders you can’t get for less than $60, but I suppose it’s better than nothing. It’s an investment I definitely want to make by the end of this year. Sending everything to the mill is expensive, and honestly, I love buying stuff that is…I don’t really know how to explain it. If I buy fiber from you, I’m curious about the animal it came off of. Several vendors at this festival just buy blends of fiber in bulk and sell it. That’s cheating. I think if you’re going to sell a product, it should be your own. From your flock, from your own spinning wheel, but maybe I’m just picky. Maybe I just pursue that whole ownership thing. Maybe I’m just awake way the hell to early in the Saturday of my three day weekend, ha!

Also in happy news, I won the designer’s monthly give away!! I got to choose between another batt, some handspun or a couture headband. I went for the batt and I cannot wait to get my hands on it!!!

Rach

One thought on “The Pursuit

Leave a Reply

