Year End Review

2014 has already sped away. I can’t believe it’s already done, so much has changed for me in the past year.

If I had to pick a theme to describe last year, I would say it was the year of Firsts. So many new experiences came my way, both good and bad, but I can definitely say that I’ve learned so much.

I experienced what it was like to no longer be an academic student and just how much time I had at my disposal. I moved away from home for the first time. I bought a car. I went on vacation with my best friends that I paid for mostly by myself, (with a little backup money from my folks, given the car situation). I changed gears and got a higher paying job. I went on my first blind date. I learned how to spin really consistent yarn. I perfected two different pasta recipes from scratch. I bought brand new furniture for the first time…even though I can’t use it yet, until I move into my new place in March. I also attended my first two fiber festivals and really got engaged in the Fiber Arts community this year, and it’s a wonderful place to be. I even took an online personal development seminar!

For the most part, 2014 was pretty good to me. Even with a few hiccups here and there, but, in retrospect, they were bumps in the road that only serve to push me further into a positive direction. I had two medical scares, the first being my under-active thyroid, which will cause me to be on medication for the rest of my life, more likely than not. The second was that interesting debacle with my kidneys. That was fun. (Another first: Paying my first major medical bill. Not so fun). Romantically, things didn’t quite work with a guy I was seeing, but then again, I should have known better. 2014 also cultivated me at being my heaviest weight ever, which probably contributed to the last.

Two days in to 2015 and I can already tell it’s going to be a really interesting year. Several of my friends are on weight loss kicks, some for the first time ever, which means I will have numerous nights and mornings at the gym as their accountability buddy. In combination with pushing myself to eat better, if I don’t lose at least 20 pounds by the end of the year, I’m going to be very upset with myself!

2015 will also set a next step for becoming more independent. No, I’m relatively independent in terms of going out by myself and not really feeling the need to being surrounded by people all the time, I mean, I take myself out on a date at least once a week as it is. But this upcoming year, I will be living on my own when the House of Rachel ceases to be after the lease closes on our little cottage/duplex in March. And, as of about ten minutes ago when I got the email verifying my credit check and such, it’s officially official.

I discovered a lot about myself this year, like my credit score. I have pretty great credit for a *newly* 24 year old college grad. I also learned that I have deep, near spiritual connection with the music of Taylor Swift, Fleetwood Mac, and rap music, as well as discovering my personal role model is Julia Child. I learned that subconsciously, red is My Color.

Finally, I have big knitting and spinning dreams this year. I want to take myself to the next level in terms of new techniques, as well as new exposure of my talents and services. This new year will be spent doing research: What do people want from me?

Pushing forward,

Rachel

Leave a Reply

