Saddle Up

Pulled a 10 hour day today. My co-worker, whom I love, got the time of an event wrong, she thought it started at 8, it actually started at 10. Grr.

However, just as I was about to get real agitated at not bringing a knitting project, I looked up from my table and saw this

image

Say WHAH??
This is my kinda place right here!! So I spent a while exploring, that big white binder has all sorts of varying knit and crochet shawl patterns. I tried to withhold too much judgement, I was in a church after all, but I found myself intrigued. Most of these patterns were painfully basic, and actually called for acrylic yarn, I on purpose, (ew), but again, to each their own. It got me thinking about an old shawl that I’ve been working on from Yarnbox, but more on that in a minute.

Later at this event, I was drawn farther down the aisle from my table, senses tingleing, drawing me by instict, and lo! I found another knitter!

Not just any knitter, she is a renegade.

Now, I’m not as adventerous in some of my sock knitting like my girl Bloody Mary is, however, this lady really caught my famcy. After the obligatory “what are you working on today?”, she informed me she was working on socks. This tube was about a foot long, so, naturally I assumed it was tube socks.

Nope.

She knits a very long tube, then CUTS IT IN HALF, AND PICKS UP STITCHES FOR THE TOE. AND MAKES ANOTHER CUT TO pick up more stitched and PUT IN AN AFTER-THOUGHT HEEL.

I’m sorry to shout but I was really impressed! I couldn’t get a picture of her method because, well, this was technically a working event, but I’m shocked!! Has anyone heard of this technique before???

Totally blew my mind. We exchanged Ravelry accounts and wow…this lady is talented!!

Oh, and she’s a reverend. Whoa. I mean I was already brimming with the spirit to find someone to geek out with, but woo hoo!!! Her user name on Ravelry is “anxious dog”, and again, man is she talented!!

I tell you, Knitting after I set up a table for these public events, before they open, has honestly brought me more successful networking opportunities than the event itself.

Knitting brings people Together.

As it should.

Oh, and here’s the Simplex shall I put down a while ago. I was lazy and didn’t want to wind the second ball, but I did it the other day. It’s such a loving pattern, so easy to remember.

Rachel

Leave a Reply

