Debut

It is with much consideration that I have finally decided to dive in with a venture I’ve been dreaming about for years.

Next month, I will be opening an Etsy store!

I will tantalize and delight you with handspun, Comercial spun yarns, and beautiful roving along the way. I love the fiber arts community and it’s time I really REALLY be a part of it!

Also, in case you haven’t stumbled upon it yet, I now host a knitting podcast called No Rest for the Knotty!! You can check out my latest episode right here!

First up:

image

The lighting is HORRIBLE and these skeins aren’t quite dry yet, but I fell in love with this colorway when I was playing with some roving last week.

I’ve experimented with a variety of methods for dyeing yarn. The top two skeins were put in dry to the dyebath, and the bottom two were pre-soaked for 20 minutes before. I have to say I am delighted that the dry skeins show much more color definition. The pre-soaked skeins show a softer, more blended transition between the colors. They’re both quite lovely!

Hence forth this colorway shall be named:

Coleus Delight.

I was seeking inspiration for colors on facebook the other day and three friends answered my call. I asked for an emotion, a super hero power, and a plant, that I could use in some combination for names, colors, names, you get the idea.

So, this name from two different subscriptions showed the best fit.

Postings of dry skeins will be up later!
Rachel

Leave a Reply

