Sock War 2017

Guys, alot has happened lately. For the sake of not boring you to tears, I’m just gonna talk about Sock War.

So, for the first time in over 5 years, One City Market is hosting it’s Sock Assassin’s game. The rules are simple; everyone starts the same sock pattern at the same time for their target, knit as fast as you can, and get them to their target as fast as you can before your assassin gets you. If you kill forst, you take the socks your target was working on and finish them, and deliver them to the person your target was supposed to kill.

Simple, right?

Well, I had a bumpy start.

Firsy, the original pattern had a tiny error in it, but I was able to find it and stop everyone from getting too far before it got too late in the night.

I was soaking wet at the time because my area had a mini tornado right before, so I went ahead and headed home to work on them.

But did I get to work on them in peace? Nope. Nicks car decided not to start when he needed to make a late night smoke run. So guess who was holding the umbrella in the pouring rain for an hour?

This girl 

And it didn’t get easier the next day. I dropped nick off at work, went to my last day of class for school, and tried to knit at home.

And subsequently took Nick home from work where we got a little lunch…

And after dropping him off at home to get into his other car, I went back home. And subsequently had to come rescue him again, because the second car died at the gas station.

Now, I understand that this is only a game, but I’m extremely competitive, and I was trying really hard not to be annoyed.

Got in some good practice for that “For Better or for Worse” vow I guess. I’d want him to do the same for me, so I tried not to be grouchy. 

But despite all thay, I finished my socks! And with a whole hour to spare before Dead Time at 8pm, the latest we can kill people, I was able to make my kill!

Even funnier, the socks I acquired from her to get my next target were all done EXCEPT for needing the last ends woven in.

But, 8pm came. And I set my alarm for 7am this morning to go kill my next target.

But I hit snooze.

And, subsequently, my assassin came for me right at 830 in the morning. 

Oh well. I’m out of the game, but I killed off at least one person! And got a lovely pair of hand knit socks and a lovely shamrock bag from my assassin 🙂

Overall, this was a super fun game 🙂

Leave a Reply

